Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Bicycle Advisory Committee

Logo design created by Leah Falin

Logo design created by Leah Falin

What is the Bicycle Advisory Committee?

The Bicycle Advisory Committee (BAC) was created with the purpose of helping the University of Tennessee reach the status of a “Bicycle Friendly University.” The Bicycle Friendly University program recognizes institutions of higher education for promoting and providing a more bikeable campus for students, staff, and faculty. This committee is a focal place for input from staff, faculty, and students in order to make the University of Tennessee a “Bicycle Friendly University”.

Bicycle Friendly University℠ is a Service Mark of the League of American Bicyclists. Used with permission. Learn more at

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville was officially recognized as a bronze-level Bicycle Friendly University℠ by the League of American Bicyclists in the fall of 2022. We would like to thank the faculty, staff, and students that have worked tirelessly to make this designation possible. UTK joins an elite group of 221 colleges and universities in 47 states and the District of Columbia that are taking action to address the health and environmental challenges facing America by creating campuses more welcoming to people who bike. Read more about what this means for UTK here!


                                Why it’s necessary:

Students and faculty are more likely to bike where they are welcomed and accommodated, as it is safer, more convenient, and more enjoyable. By encouraging more people to ride bicycles the university can save money, reduce emissions, and improve the health of the participants. For example, with fewer short-distance car trips made by students, The University will not only lower emissions and traffic congestion but will also save money and space through a decreased demand for vehicular parking.

Get involved with us!

The BAC typically meets once a month for about an hour. If you have any input, we would love to hear from you at the monthly meeting. However, if you can’t attend, please email any suggestions to our current Chairperson, Jay Price, at Additionally, if you would like to join the BAC, you can email Jay Price for more information.

Below are the names of the current members. We are always open for more folks to join because in order for this committee to be successful we need community involvement and suggestions from cyclists throughout Knoxville.

Jay Price – UT Office of Sustainability

Eugene Fitzhugh – UT Kinesiology, Recreation, and Sport Studies

Josh Elder – UT Outdoor Pursuits

Bethany Morris – UT Facilities Services

Mckenna Robinson – UTPD

Moira Bindner – UT Parking and Transportation Services

Rodney Combs – UT Housing Maintenance

Chris Cherry – UT Civil & Environmental Engineering

Monica Black- UT Department of History

Salvador Bartera – UT Department of Classics

Paul Laudeman – Kickstand Knoxville

Sophia Etienne – Two Bikes

Matt McMillan – Tailgating for a Cause

Jon Livengood – City of Knoxville

Emily Jackson – Knoxville Regional TPO

Lindsey Kimble- Bike Walk Knoxville

Student Members:

Carson Davis, Dalton Brown, Makenna Reilly, Matthew Carr, Michael Ray, Samin Saboor, Will Valentine, Grayson Whitlock